Interview with Olivia Grace from Birkendocs

IMG_2070

Here is my second interview to go up on the blog. Like I mentioned before I find inspiration from everywhere blogs, movies, photos, books, songs, and instagram. Olivia has the most amazing photography, editing and fashion skills. Everything kind of feels sort of magical, and the outfit rages from looking like a native French Rivera girl to a modern-day princess. It’s much different from regular instagram accounts which is why I like it so much. I contacted Olivia through instagram and asked if I could interview her to understand what goes on behind the account.

Links to Olivia’s social media
Instagram @Birkendocs
Tumblr http://www.immoralfloral.tumblr.com

Could you start by telling us a bit about yourself ?

Sure! My name is Olivia Grace Otts and I am 15 years old. My Instagram
username is @birkendocs (like Birkenstock shoes and Doc Martins) I was born in
Dublin, Ireland to a pair of loving parents and an amazing extended family. I have
always been an artsy person, and my friends like to say that my head is really far up in the clouds. I am currently in the rigorous International Baccalaureate diploma program, so my life is devoted entirely to essays and late night cramming at the moment. I am an introvert at heart, but I love getting to know people that share my appreciation for literature and the arts.

FullSizeRender(5)

What inspired you to start your blog/photography?

I have never been very popular at school, since I am known as a bit of an artistic
misfit compared to the other conservative and conforming people in my town. I
needed a way to express myself outside of school without being judged for my
originality, so I started a blog that has grown into a massive jumble of my feelings and opinions. When I first started taking pictures, I was going through a hard time fighting the depression that has affected me for a long time. I used the art form as a way to cope, and it helped me see life in a more positive light. Pretty soon, I realized that I had gained a major following, so I bought a Nikon and my photography really began to take off. I have recently gotten into modeling, and I was lucky enough to have a place in Mobile Fashion Week’s main runway show. This was a big step up for me, as I have always been insecure about the way that I
look. Now I am improving in both my photography and my self-image, and I credit
a large part of that to the amazing support I receive from my close friends and
followers.

FullSizeRender(6)

Favorite blogs/instagram accounts?

My favourite Instagram accounts are; @h.d.r, @withhearts, @raininthehighlands,
@sovietnam, @roadtoeverywhere, @insentient, @parvana, and @nurturingsoul.

FullSizeRender(7)

Where do you get your inspiration?

I get most of my inspiration from the beauty that I have witnessed in the natural
world, but Renaissance art and New Age-y elements also come into play in my
photography. There is so much beauty in the natural world, if you know where to
look.

FullSizeRender(3)

Is there any interesting or surprising thing that most people don’t know
about you?

I have bright golden eyes, and they make me look a bit like a cat. Also, I love IndieFolk music and traditional Celtic tunes.

IMG_1634

If you could change one thing about mainstream fashion, what would
you change?

I would change the emphasis that is put on teenage girls to look and dress a certain way, because unrealistic expectations can really damage their self esteem. If girls see only long-haired, big boobed, super skinny models in magazines and on social media, than they will feel like they don’t measure up to the standards of beauty that our society demands. Also, there are groups of girls that all dress exactly the same as their friend group, and it’s like seeing double! If the only way you can be accepted is to conform, than find more open-minded people to spend your time with. My rule is that if I have to change myself to feel comfortable and accepted around my friends, than I need to reevaluate the kind of group they really are.

IMG_1636

In your spare time, you would most likely be found…

In my spare time I would be found procrastinating my homework by doing other
homework. It’s the IB life. If it’s the weekend than I’m probably either taking more photos or reading in my hammock in the backyard. I really enjoy lying on my
bedroom floor and pretending to be a plant performing photosynthesis. It’s an
obscure hobby.

FullSizeRender

How would you describe your own personal style?

My personal style is whatever makes me feel beautiful. There’s a lot of Boho hippie
influences and flower fairy themes, but I lean more towards soft grunge and Tokyo
street fashion in the colder months. The main question I ask myself before wearing
something is “Does this express the image that I want to give off, and am I wearing
at least one flower crown?”

IMG_2491

What do you hope to do in the future?

My hopes for the future are as follows:
1) surround myself with positive energy
2) accept myself and learn to be at peace
3) develop an artistic skill that gives me purpose
4) fully appreciate all the beauty in our world
5) marry a billionaire and whisk away with his fortune
6) donate that cash to people who need fake eyebrows
7) keep enough money to live comfortably with my cats
8) write a memoir and reach enlightenment

FullSizeRender(10)

Anything else you want to add?

Accept yourself and be a loving person by spreading positive energy! Also take
good care of your eyebrows and your friends.
XOXO
Olivia Grace

Leave a Reply

