December 2016 and January 2017 Ipsy Bags

img_5056

This is my December Ipsy Bag. I did a full year of Ipsy and I found I really liked it I can confidently recommend it for other people. I was fortunate enough to receive another year for Christmas which was very thoughtful of my parents. It does obviously vary from month to month on the quality of the bag and if I like everything in it. For me at least Ipsy does seem to repeat the same brands at least a couple times a year, which isn’t always a problem.

I didn’t like the quality of this months bag but they did make up for it because the eyeliner, eyeshadow, lip balm and I think the brush were all full sized. I had received lip balm by the same brand earlier in the year in lavender but I love the peppermint flavor it’s very minty but not tingly. It also happens to be vegan and cruelty free. The lipstick transformer isn’t my favorite, I would rather just buy a liquid lip but I can see the novelty behind it. It didn’t really dry down and had a very powder like feeling, much like the NYX soft matte lip creams. If you like those however you would like it. The brush is a bit to dense for my taste but I have received one from that brand before that I liked. The eyeliner color is very pretty and it lasts a really long time but it’s a bit dry, almost as if the wand is dried out even though it’s brand new. My favorite by far is the eyeshadow which is so pigmented it’s crazy. Seriously you ought to try this formula, buttery and insane that’s how good it is, and inexpensive too.

So for December I recieved:
Hikari Cosmetics Liquid Eyeliner in Iris $15
NYX Prismatic Eyeshadow in Fireball $6.
Royal and Langnickel MODA Angle Shader brush I’m not sure.
Jersey Shore Cosmetics Peppermint Lip Balm $10.
Smashbox Insta-Matte Lipstick Transformers $24.

img_5060

img_5241

This is my January Ipsy Bag. This month I received:
Manna Kadar Paradise Blush $19.
The Balm Bahama Mama Bronzer $20.
Jelly Pong Pong Coffee and Coconut Lip Scrub $19.
Naked Cosmetics Mica Pigment in Desert Sunset #02 $15.
Ciate London GELOLOGY Top Coat $17.

Again I was not a fan of this bag. It felt super cheap. However I loved the bags from August through November so the fact that this one isn’t great can be forgiven. This month the only full sized products I received are the nail polish top coat and the eyeshadow. The lip scrub might (?) be full sized but I’m not sure. I was over the moon when I found out I was getting another Naked Cosmetics eyeshadow. I received one in February and I loved it. It’s a loose pigment so there is fallout but it’s gorgeous. I also was excited for the lip scrub because mine ran out recently. It smells like coffee and is rather oily, and the scrub is relatively good, not as intense as I would like though. According to Jelly Pong Pong’s website and the packaging it’s vegan and cruelty free but it was made in China which requires animal testing so I’m not sure on the cruelty free part. The blush and bronzer are pretty, but I wish the balm has sent a bigger product size, it’s literally the size of a penny. The bronzer does better as a contour for me and is a good product I just wish there was more to try. The blush’s shade is pretty but unfortunately it looks kind of splotchy on my skin. Lastly I like the topcoat as it makes my nail polish very shiny, but it didn’t make them last any longer, and certainly didn’t make them anywhere near the kind of gel you get at the salon.

img_5245

Leave a Reply

