Products I Regret Purchasing

img_5321

I can’t make videos anymore, which probably isn’t any great tragedy I was horrid at them, because the software that came on my computer broke. So I’m now doing my empties and products I regret, beauty/brand breakdowns typed now. Hopefully you all like them. It is likely because of this that they will now be smaller and more often. So here are some products that disappointed me.

Dove’s Refresh+Care Dry Shampoo

I bought this after having finished the Not Your Mothers Dry Shampoo which is my favorite dry shampoo as I’ve tried, it’s very similar to Bastise. This however was awful. It left a white cast, and was pretty scented. It made your hair voluminous and seemed to take out the oil when it first goes on, but later in the day made my hair even oiler and flatter than when I has started. A similar thing happened to me with the Herbal Essence shampoo, both that and this just made my hair look like a greasy mess. Don’t buy it!

Coty Airspun Powder in Translucent

I bought this because of a youtuber Tati Westbrook. She raves about this product especially about using it for baking. If you don’t know what baking is it’s when you put excess powder on areas of your foundation before you set it. You wait for the powder to warm up and then when it sets it’s less likely to crease and because your face warmed the powder and set into the foundation it creates a better finish. I don’t normally bake but I bought this to try anyway. This isn’t actually a bad product. It’s not the best powder I’ve ever tried as I prefer mine to be softer, but it’s good and you get LOADS of product for the price. My problem is that is smells so strong that it gives me a headache. It doesn’t go away either it just stays all day and makes your face smell like you sprayed powdery old lady perfume on it. It’s awful. If scent doesn’t bother you at all you would love it but for anyone else stay far far away.

Rimmel Volume Colorist Mascara

This came out a while ago, last spring I think. It’s targeted towards people who have blonde or red eyelashes and claims to gradually tint your lashes darker. I’m not sure if that’s true because my eyelashes are black naturally, but I can tell you that the formula itself stinks. It’s clumpy like most Rimmel mascara’s, smudges and doesn’t really do any lengthening. I fins that with a lot of Rimmel mascara’s and I’m only a really a fan of the Retro Curve and the Curve mascara from them.

ELF Shimmer Lip Gloss in Believe

I bought this at the dollar tree and I’m glad I did because I wouldn’t pay any more than a dollar for it. It’s super sticky and almost completely just glitter. It’s more suited as a toddlers play makeup than actual makeup.

Fresh Rose Face Mask

This was an option for the Sephora Birthday Gift this year. It was a sample of the Fresh Soy face cleanser (which I liked very gentle!) and this mask. I’ve never tried any high end masks so I was excited for this. It’s not a bad mask itself because it’s very hydrating. It’s brown and comes with actual rose petals so it looks pretty gross but the feeling on your skin is nice. Again like the powder this reeked so much of powdered roses. It smelled like a forty year old bottle of perfume was poured all over my face. I just couldn’t deal with it. If you like rose scents or can deal with strong scents in general it might be more for you because the product itself isn’t bad, just the scent.

Almay Intense i-color Party Bright Shadow trio for green

This is garbage eye shadow. No pigment, super powdery and dry they barely show up when you swatch them and even less on your eyes. The only color that’s halfway good is the purple but with a brush it becomes more like a shadow then an actual pigment. I can only assume the other colors in this range are just as bad.

Sephora Gel Cream Blush in Peony

I got this in the Sephora mystery bag that came when you ordered near/on Black Friday. I have to admit this is the second cream/gel blush I’ve tried that’s really bad and its turning me off to them. The swatches below show the color when it first is blended out which seems quite bright, and next to it is more blended out. They seem alright, however this literally disappears when you blend it on your face. The swatch on my arm stained my skin but that’s only because I had this big unblended gloop and no one is going to put that on their face. Actually trying to put a normal amount on and blend it, doesn’t matter with what: brush beauty blender or fingers makes it go away. Don’t waste your money on this.

img_5324

Leave a Reply

